Symbolism in Disney’s Pinocchio


pinocchio_bar.jpg

This article was submitted in 2000, but was never added to the site.

Contributed by Mikazo.

16_pinocchio.jpgPinocchio is entirely symbolic. I’m going to use the Disney 1940 animated version to explain. I’m also going to skip the obvious and go to the interesting and deep stuff.

First off, Pleasure Island was pure symbolism. The kids get spirited away to an island where they can smoke, play games, fight, etc., and put all their worries aside. In the end, however, the boys get turned into donkeys and are sent to work as menial laborers to places such as the salt mines. It seems that what the writer or writers were trying to say was that this happens in real life: if you fart around and waste your life now, then you’ll be a jackass working in the salt mines as an adult. They just had a totally different way of portraying that situation (i.e. the boys physically getting turned into donkeys by some unknown and unseen force).

The coachman, who takes all the kids to Pleasure Island, is a character similar to Willy Wonka. He is basically like a christ child who’s responsible for weeding out the stupid and unruly and putting them to work. He also represents a path that some people take, where they find the world of fun and games, and then later pay for it. Of course, I disagree with his methods. A stupid kid can grow into a wise adult. However, a stupid adult usually stays stupid. I feel like he should be weeding out the stupid adults. But, he’s just an anthropomorphic version of the fate that some kids unknowingly and unthinkingly choose.

I’m moving on to another character, John Worthington Foulfellow, who was the graceful and charismatic fox that conned Pinocchio and several other kids. I’m looking at his clothes: the top hat, the white theater gloves, the cape, and the pant legs that hook around the bottoms of the feet. An interesting thing is that he’s dressing like the upper class; however, his clothes are patched and worn. Also, when he looks at Pinocchio’s book, he looks at it upside-down when pretending to read it. It’s odd to think of where he actually came from or why he didn’t get an education. Perhaps schooling wasn’t open to non-humans, so he had to resort to thievery and trickery to get money, all the while dreaming of being wealthy. Or he simply decided that he didn’t need an education to make cold, hard, instant cash. This character seems to be the embodiment of empty promises and traps. However, when striking a deal with the coachman in the pub, he recoils with fear when the coachman describes his plans to steal kids away. Then he responds with frightened “yessir’s” when the coachmen tells him what to do. It seems like he’s also a pawn, someone who’s used often by the truly wealthy. I think that with his skills in conning people and his persistence, he would’ve made a good used car salesman, army recruiter, or credit card advertiser, and get a steady paycheck instead of unreliable street deals. He’s just too damn good at that stuff.

Who else? Gideon, who was Foulfellow’s feline companion. I can’t seem to find a relation between him and the other messages of the film, but he seems to be the lost soul in the movie. He never says a word and doesn’t seem to have any paths or goals. He probably is incompetent, which explains why he follows Foulfellow around helping him gain money.

Those were some of the more striking things in the movie. The writers were trying to paint a physical picture of fate. This film really ought to be used in career planning classes in high school.

31 Responses to Symbolism in Disney’s Pinocchio

  1. Good brief and this website helped me a lot in my college assignment. Keep it up.

  2. Thanks for the article. It was a really good read.. 🙂

  3. Diabetic Kit says:

    I found your site via yahoo thanks for the post. I will bookmark it for future reference. Thanks Womenes Diabetic Socks is our specialty.

  4. they says:

    This regard Granted, to see much?On January rd, infected your PC.Bruce SwedalSEO: How, to originate making.People searched optimizing they, rpm records player or his.Of the Old, like this: ?C:Program.,

  5. Bernardo De La Torre says:

    Jejejeje…. when you said “skip the obvious” I thought you were going to skip exactly everything you just said….. jejeje. I guess there are different levels. You must be american.

    Excuse my english.

  6. coupon says:

    Important?…

    Is this really updated?…

  7. […] with the folks over at The Journal of Cartoon Over Analyzation (yes, it really exists, click this link) in that perhaps The Adventures of Pinocchio would be better suited for a high school career […]

  8. More says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own website now 😉

  9. through the looking glass says:

    Personally I think, the Pleasure Island is an allegory for pop culture – TV, music, movies, and whatever it is that us teenagers are being fed with. As it was in the film, it’s the complete opposite of school, supposed to be. Though I guess no matter what we’re exposed to these days, we’ll all come out as donkeys – either laboring as mindless drones for the corporations or infinitely consuming what pop culture dictates us to.

  10. Really….helpful web-site and content on this
    page. The actual articles on this web site are incredibly informative!

    !!! 🙂 Any existing Feed here? 🙂 I’ve truly been looking out for frequently up-to-date material relating to show tickets tonight las vegas.

  11. Dude,awesome site you’ve got here. A lot of high-quality content not to mention useful advice!!! Do you own any kind of information related to free cigars samples uk?

  12. Dude……helpful website you got here. Plenty of outstanding information and specific advice!

    !! Do you already have any sort of information associated with best foods to buy organic?

  13. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this site, and post is really fruitful in favor of me,
    keep up posting such articles.

  14. […] gran muntatge sembla la materialització d’un passatge literari prou simbòlic. Carlo Collodi va crear un escenari similar a Les aventures de Pinocchio. Tant al llibre com a les […]

  15. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing
    this website. I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in
    the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my
    own site now 😉

  16. For sure you can do this part-time, after work, in the evenings, putting in a
    couple of hours everyday or every other day.

    Through adding content such as articles or reviews, you ensure your customers that you know your business and industry.
    One thing you can do is employ free and low cost
    online marketing tactics in your plan.

  17. What’s up, this weekend is nice in support of me, since
    this point in time i am reading this wonderful
    informative paragraph here at my residence.

  18. reborn briar says:

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing?
    I’m experiencing some small security problems with my latest website and I’d like to find something more secure.

    Do you have any suggestions?

  19. Hi there, I discovered your website via Google at the same time as
    searching for a similar matter, your website came up,
    it appears good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply became aware of your weblog thru Google,
    and located that it’s truly informative. I’m going to be careful for
    brussels. I’ll be grateful if you proceed this in future.
    A lot of people will probably be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  20. Jung says:

    I found that a great number of your site posts are rated high in search engines like yahoo.
    Are you currently using a certain plug-in that is helping you?
    In that case, could you tell me as I have had a tough time
    getting my site posts to rank well.

  21. Rich says:

    I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You are wonderful! Thanks!

  22. gas station says:

    This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  23. It’s not my first time to pay a visit this site,
    i am visiting this web page dailly and obtain fastidious facts from here every day.

  24. Hi there to every one, it’s really a fastidious for me to pay a visit this
    web page, it consists of priceless Information.

  25. Hi excellent website! Does running a blog similar
    to this take a great deal of work? I’ve very little
    understanding of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyways, should you have any ideas or techniques for
    new blog owners please share. I understand this is off
    subject however I simply had to ask. Thank you!

  26. It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  27. web4all.fr says:

    Great post but I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Kudos!

  28. Tanja says:

    Excellent web site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like
    yours nowadays. I seriously appreciate individuals like you!

    Take care!!

  29. Facebook marketing, interest marketing methods, cause generation generation, just how to followup and change
    leads, Twitter instruction, Googleplus training it is all accessible within the MyLeadSystemPro – MLSP Connection Marketing Education System.
    MLSP MyLeadSystemPro is so a lot more than a advertising education podium, it’s an online cultural community inside it ‘s own right.

  30. look at this site

    Symbolism in Disney’s Pinocchio | The Journal of Cartoon Overanalyzations

Leave a comment